They saw God

A beautiful and thought provoking post from Jeanne Damoff: “Brushes with the Holy”:

“Then Moses and Aaron, Nadab, and Abihu, and seventy of the elders of Israel went up, and they saw the God of Israel. There was under his feet as it were a pavement of sapphire stone, like the very heaven for clearness. And he did not lay his hand on the chief men of the people of Israel; they beheld God, and ate and drank.” ~ Exodus 24:9-11

I read this passage recently, and it caught me off guard. I’ve read Exodus numerous times before, but for some reason I’d forgotten this one astonishing detail.

They saw God.

I remembered the plagues on Egypt, the parting of the Red Sea, manna from heaven, and water from the rock. I remembered the mountain with its thick cloud and blazing fire and celestial trumpet blast. But this? They saw God. Seventy-four men actually saw Him, and lived to tell, and then? Less than two months later, all is forgotten. The people grow impatient for Moses to return, and they demand new gods, and Aaron accommodates their request, and it’s as if they never experienced God’s power at all, much less saw Him.

I shake my head in wonder. How could they? After God had done so much, given so much, revealed so much. I would never. Surely I would never.

Except I would. And I have.

You can read the rest here.

What do you think?

