In the beauty of His holiness

A new song from my friend, Ruth Fazal.

And here is why she wrote it:

IN THE BEAUTY OF HIS HOLINESS

“In the Beauty of His Holiness” is one of the most intimate songs that I have ever recorded. I actually wrote it first in Hebrew, and there will be a version of it in Hebrew on another CD of Hebrew songs  ( Kol Kach KarovSo Close, which will be released by the end of the Fall.

When I was a child, there was a hymn that we sang in church that I always loved. I particularly loved the melody, and the words captured my young heart, even before I came to really know the Lord..

O worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness
Bow down before Him, His glory proclaim
With gold of obedience and incense of lowliness
Kneel and adore Him, the Lord is His name.

And so the hymn continues, with beautiful words of a life laid down before the feet of the Lord.

One day in January 2015, as I was sitting in my little apartment in the hills of Samaria, Israel, with guitar in hand, I began to sing the words “Worship the Lord, in the beauty of His holiness, bow down before Him all the earth…..” (Psalm 96:9)   I was singing in Hebrew…..and it continues ” Say among the nations, the Lord reigns”   I knew that I had tapped into something very special as I sang this. Something so simple, and yet childlike and intimate.  Standing before our amazing God, His beauty stretching beyond our imagination, and yet to even touch it a tiny amount fills our hearts with adoration and longing for more of Him.

This is how I feel when I sing this song…..  So I have recorded it also in English, not with guitar, but with a simple piano accompaniment.  Everything about this song is about simplicity of heart. I am ‘lost in wonder, love and praise’ to even think that I could stand before Him, or kneel, or even more, that I could be held in the embrace of the One that I love so much.

Jesus has made the way for us to enter into this kind of intimacy. It is amazing, and may we never take it for granted. I hope that you enjoy the song, and that it brings you into His Presence in a deep and yet simple way.

We hope to release WORTH IT ALL by October 1st.

Her website is here.

What do you think?

